Adam puts together the very complex and intricate assembly of 3D printed and machined parts for his NASA ACES spacesuit helmet replica. This helmet includes contributions from multiple makers, including The Broken Nerd, Punished Props, and Shawn Thorsson. And as is sometimes the case with a One Day Build, this build isn’t without its complications.

Shot and edited by Gunther Kirsch

Subscribe for more videos! http://www.youtube.com/subscription_c…
Follow us on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/testedcom
Get updates on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/testedcom

Tested is:
Adam Savage http://www.twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan http://www.twitter.com/nchan
Simone Giertz http://www.twitter.com/simonegiertz
Joey Fameli http://www.joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch https://guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser https://www.instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Kishore Hari http://www.twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth http://www.twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams http://www.twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer https://twitter.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran https://twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman http://www.twitter.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney http://www.twitter.com/thebrokennerd83
Kristen Lomasney https://twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman
Set design by Danica Johnson http://www.twitter.com/saysdanica
Set build by Asa Hillis http://www.asahillis.com

Thanks for watching!

29 Replies to “Adam Savage's One Day Builds: NASA Spacesuit Helmet!”

  1. I loved watching him bend the metal. Looked fun and satisfying to do and if it was me, I would pretend I was Bender from Futurama while working.

  2. The velcro markers they put on the astronauts are so they know whose legs, arms, head etc that they're looking at in the event things go horribly wrong 🙁

  3. I can't be the only one that finds it oddly reassuring that even Adam, with all his years of experience, still has those moments of nervousness when making something, a 'I could screw this up' moment.

  4. There is a way to get clear out of fdm printing. There is a filament that can be smoothed with isopropyl alcohol, done carefully and with patience (a day or two between mistings, light spray downs) it can be made clear enough to see through. Not glass perfect, but plenty close enough for a prop, even a wearable one.

  5. 4:18 “You might be wondering why I’m taping up the whole helmet if I’m painting only this part? That’s because no matter how carefully you paint – you will have overspray…”
    48:27 “that’s awesome, gonna hit this little bit”

Comments are closed.